To Hell with Money

“It is a truth universally acknowledged, that a single man in possession of a good fortune must be in want of a wife.” – Pride and Prejudice, Jane Austen

By Anonymous

in-the-park-3-1314058What does it mean? What would a wife mean to a rich man? I’d rather suggest that a rich man would be happier if he shared his wealth with others. It doesn’t have to be a wife. I know of a few rich men who are afraid to get married in case a wife will “run away with his millions.” There are countless court cases where a wife’s goal is to take her husband “to the cleaners”. Whom can you trust? Almost nobody.

Who needs a wife? A real friend would be a better option. But is it easier to find a wife than a real, good friend?

Poor men, poor rich men. I don’t blame them for being scared to marry. Prenuptial agreements? I am very much against them. It’s like saying “I love you but I don’t trust you, my young bride.” Can love and trust be two different things? Can you love without trusting your woman?

Anyway, why should I worry? I’m not a rich man. I was financially abused by two late husbands and I was left without a penny or a roof over my head.

To hell with money. I believe in love.